“I am writing in my story to show that there is hope if we are just courageous enough to reach for it.” by Indian Homemaker

Sharing an email.

Dear IHM,

Reading the last couple of e-mails posted on your blog is a bittersweet experience. Bitter – because of the sheer amount of crap that, we as Unmarried Independent Women of Indian Origin have to face. Sweet (well a little bit) – because at least there is hope for the future as we are (hopefully) a growing breed.

I want to share my story, both as a warning to not succumb to the immense pressure that is put on us and also because I truly believe it is worth forging our own path. I in no way speak for every Indian woman who has faced the insane pressure that is put on us, and I also recognise the many privileges that I enjoy – financial independence, physical distance from India, and parents who though living in India and under constant pressure are genuinely supportive for the most part.

Read more here.

This entry was posted in Bloggers Speak and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to “I am writing in my story to show that there is hope if we are just courageous enough to reach for it.” by Indian Homemaker

  1. Thanks for sharing you story. I am happy that you are living your life the way you would like to – all the very best !

Leave a comment