A Parent’s Guide To Bringing Up Boys by Arundhati Venkatesh

I realized early that I had a sensitive, thoughtful and caring child. The said child is a boy. When he was under two, he would show concern for others; his eyes would well up if he sensed someone was upset.

The soft-spoken child gradually hardened. He learnt quickly that the world does not expect or accept these qualities in a boy. As he grew older, there was more exposure with more time spent outside home. When he was four, there were days I could hardly recognize my boy. By the time he was five, most days were like that.

I haven’t given up. Beneath the tough exterior, I still see flashes of my considerate child. He is still a loving boy; we just need to work at it.

Read more here.

This entry was posted in Bloggers Speak and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

