She Shall Have Music Wherever She Goes by Orange Jammies

I awoke on Monday morning to the blinking light on my phone, telling me an email had arrived. Groggily, I reached out, half-knowing what to expect. “She’s dead,” I said to the Boy, and buried my face in his chest.

Read the rest here 

This entry was posted in Bloggers Speak. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to She Shall Have Music Wherever She Goes by Orange Jammies

  1. Horrifying and I am sure many of us personally know of women who have suffered similar fate – I know of atleast three domestic helpers and one middle class woman. Two of them tried very hard to come back home but were sent back to ‘adjust’ with their in laws.

  2. Orange Jammies says:

    Indian Homemaker: Yes, it is horrifying. Other than witnessing a commercial sex worker being thrown off a bridge when I was 15, this was my first real-world experience outside of a news item. Statistics had to catch up at some point. But efforts such as VAW Awareness Month ensure that these incidents are not just chalked up to statistics and relegated to legal manuals/sociological reports.

Leave a Reply

